Discover the PCIM Europe

Prof. Dr. Leo Lorenz ♥ Power & Beyond

Prof. Dr. Leo Lorenz

ECPE European Center for Power Electronics e.V.

LEO LORENZ received the M.Eng. degree from Univ. of Berlin, Germany, in 1976 and the Ph.D. degree (first-class Hons.) from the University of Bundeswehr Munich in 1984 (Germany).

He is currently a Technology Advisor for several Research Institutions, Board Member of key Power Electronics Conferences, and President of ECPE. From 1988 to 1998, he was Senior Director at Siemens responsible for Power Semiconductor Devices in Automotive & Industrial Application. From 1998 to 2012, he served as Senior Principal in Application and Concept Engineering for power semiconductor Technologies in Munich/Singapore/Shanghai. In this field, he has published more than 500 Journal/conference papers with a high citation rate and is the owner of several patents. He gave more than 100 keynote presentations at high-level Summits and Conferences.

Besides his work in Industry, he holds an Honorable/Adjunct Professorship at several Universities in Germany and Worldwide. In this function, he provides courses on power semiconductor technologies and supervised more than 20 Ph.D. Students.

Dr. Lorenz is one of the Key Founder of ECPE (European Center of Power Electronics) and since the foundation in 2003 President of this organization. He is Co-founder of several conferences such as CIPS (Conference on Integrated Power Systems), ISPSD, etc. He served as General Chair of several Conferences e.g., CIPS since 2005, EPE 2005 (President since 2015), ISPSD 1997, PCIM since 2001, and is in the Advisory Board of all these Conferences. Dr. Lorenz received several times the best paper award at IEEE Conferences. In 1996 and 98, he received the Siemens Innovation Award and from the German Industry Society the Innovation Award in 2002.

Besides these he received several high-level IEEE Awards e.g., IEEE-ISPSD Outstanding Contributory Award in 2010 (Japan), the IEEE- Gerald Kliman Innovator Award in 2011 (USA) and the IEEE- William E. Newell Power Electronics Award in 2012 (USA), Ernst Blickle Award in 2015 (Germany), Sun Yun-Suan Honorary Professorship from Nat. Tsing Hua University TW in 2016 and a Dr. Honoris Causa nomination in 2017, an Honorary Prof. Xi-An Jiaotong Univ.2018, IEEE Member Hall of Fame in 2018.

He is a distinguished lecturer at several Universities since 2003. He owns an IEEE- Fellowship since 2006 and is a Member of the German Academy of Science since 2005. He continues to work as an editorial board member of several magazines.

Articles of the author